20130825_allen_film039i

Phew! This is the last installment of our summer travels to England & Ireland. The last few days have been full of great feedback & I wish I was able to take all of you with me! Unfortunately, I could only fit 50 lbs. in my luggage and my camera equipment is about half of that weight and Cadbury Chocolate  was definitely the other half of that. If you missed the earlier parts to this, you can see part 1, 2, 3, and 4 by clicking on their link! Once again, going through these pictures, I just sit and thank God that I’m so blessed to make all these expeditions. I really do hope to be able to do this for some sort of good one day, so if you know a way I can impact the world through photography or a story that needs to be told, hit a girl up.  

 

For my photographers, these photos are all from my D800 or my Nikon FM with Fuji Pro 400h film (side note: how coincidental the light leak on the opening image!). These are from 3 different day trips to the towns of Dingle & Cork and the Cliffs of Moher. Each such a different place, but each with a gorgeous, jaw-dropping drives through the Irish countryside. Never in my life have I seen such beautiful light just pick and choose what it wants to illuminate and actually be able to capture it in a single frame. Never have I seen such thick fog become a luscious gray backdrop for some of the most colorful buildings & street life I’ve seen. Never have I been able to stand over 700 ft. above sea level & look down to not only see the sight of where Harry Potter & Dumbledore’s quest to destroy horcruxes began, but to also just inhale such a fresh sea breeze, that I realized that everything I’m doing in my life now has some sort of purpose and not have my fears overcome me. And never have I been able to meet such wonderful people, who despite terrible economic conditions, continue to strive to make their lives and their country beautiful by just caring and being thankful for what they do have in life. 

We set out one day to explore the Dingle Peninsula & then the town of Dingle, home to the famous Murphy’s Ice Cream! The countryside was amazing, and the peninsula unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. There were even surf lessons happening in that 55-degree weather! More power to you, Irishmen, you couldn’t pay me to get in that water.

20130804_allen_ireland-888i

20130804_allen_ireland-865i

Meet Frank, one of our drivers! He was such a sweet and hilarious guy! He also knew the best spots for photos & stew!

20130804_allen_ireland-877i

20130804_allen_ireland-857i

20130804_allen_ireland-890i

20130804_allen_ireland-971i

irelanddip4

20130804_allen_ireland-958i

20130825_allen_film040i

 

So many Irish wildflowers were picked for pressing!

irelanddip3

irelanddip2

20130825_allen_film042i

ICE CREAM & STEW!

20130804_allen_ireland-1016i

 

 

The next day we headed out to the city of Cork. We did some shopping, some exploring, and found some utterly delicious food at the Idaho Cafe! I even found a sweet shop that had my favorite Haribo eggs & gummy dolphins, which reminded me of my years in England as a kid. Although, when I thought the gummy dolphins were sharks, the clerk was quick to correct me that they were “dolphins, not sharks, because the Irish are nice and the English are sharky people.” After we left Cork, we stopped in Blarney to visit the castle & kiss the Blarney Stone. While I decided to overcome my fear of spiral staircases and heights, I leaned back head first and kissed the stone for luck. Then wiped hand sanitizer all over my lips, haha. May favorite part though were the poison gardens, which made me feel like I was in Professor Sprout’s class at Hogwarts!

20130825_allen_film037i

irelanddip8

20130825_allen_film043i

irelanddip7

irelanddip6

 

 

Our last day, we headed out to the Cliffs of Moher. Such a beautiful place. We stopped along the way to grab some photos of some very, very old (I’m talking Middle Ages era), graveyards that just hang out in old castle ruins or along the beach. Once we got to the Cliffs, the view was just spectacular. No photo, I think, could ever do it justice. It really just makes you stop and take a breath of fresh air. I wish we could’ve been there during sunset or sunrise, but it was just too far away for a day trip to try and get there at a certain time, but nevertheless, the Cliffs are stunning anytime of day!

20130804_allen_ireland-1253i

irelanddip5

20130804_allen_ireland-1284i

20130804_allen_ireland-1290i

20130804_allen_ireland-1310i

20130804_allen_ireland-1328i

20130804_allen_ireland-1361i

20130825_allen_film046i

20130804_allen_ireland-1414i

 

What I would give to be a cow who lives at the Cliffs!

20130804_allen_ireland-1424i

20130825_allen_film052i

We stopped in Adare, on our way back to Springfield Castle and stopped in to this quaint little Abbey Church. Adare was a beautiful little town with thatched cottages, but was really overrun with senior citizen tourists. Must be the golfing!

irelanddip1

 

And here are some of the Instagram’s from the last leg of our trip! Enjoy!

instadipireland

Thank you again for following along with these adventures! I’m always up for shooting, so let me know if you’re in!

Comments

One Comment

Post a comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. goult + gordes|provence-alpes-côte d’azur, france | viedfinder

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS